Blog content

Snapchat rolls out Shared Stories for collaborative content

Snapchat has introduced “Shared Stories” to the platform, which makes it easier for users to collaborate and share memories. This feature is basically an upgrade to the “Custom Stories” feature which allowed users to create a story and add friends to it who can view and contribute to it.

The Shared Stories feature allows users who have been added to a group to also add friends to make the group bigger and easier to collaborate – “so the whole football team, camp team or group of co-workers can having fun,” as Snap puts it.

To start a shared story, you need to go to your profile, tap on the new story option, then select “Shared Story”. As is the case with all Stories on the platform, Snaps sent to a Shared Story will also be automatically deleted after 24 hours.

What these shared stories lack is the chat component present in the usual stories and groups on Snap. Snap explained that it moderates content on Shared Stories using a combination of automatic language detection and community review tools. The platform also notifies users if they join a shared story with someone they have blocked, this will allow the user to maintain control over who they share content with on Snap.

“Shared Stories is a new iteration of Custom Stories, a product that previously allowed Snapchatters to create a Story and add friends to view and contribute. Now, thanks to our new and improved Shared Stories, Snapchatters who have been added can also add their friends to the group, making it easier for the whole football team, camp team, or group of new co-workers to have fun,” Snap said in a blog post.

“With this next-gen story, we hope to help Snapchatters turn shared moments into shared memories,” the company added.

Read also : After Meta, Snap slows hiring as revenue takes a hit

Read also : Snapchat CEO pays student loan worth $10 million to over 250 new grads